Scrumptious Butternut Squash Soup (with optional additions to make it more scrumptious!)

So I’ve finally made a butternut squash soup that we all like! My other attempts, which have been recipe based, weren’t so hot. This one I just made up and it was LOVELY.

1 butternut squash

1 red onion

1 potato (it was a big’un)

1 stock cube (chicken, but veg would be fine)

water

(and i added a titch of cream cheese, just to see…but I don’t think it made a difference)

Directions – Boil & Mush. Our blender doesn’t work currently so I used a hand whisk to make it soup-like.

Then, whilst eating it, with ciabatta mmmmmmm… I was asking Phil how to make it better. So we started experimenting. Turns out, if you add a titch of balsamic vinegar and soft goats cheese it is DELECTABLE…!!!!!

And so very cheap to make.

——

I’m currently re-reading Tobias Jones’ Utopian Dreams. It’s basically a search for meaning & community, while he muses about whether or not such things are possible without religion or a figurehead to ‘worship’ (ie. Damanhur). Obviously this is a big issue for me. I remember someone saying that SSU ruined her for the ordinary. I know a lot of us believe it, but I am not sure that’s a positive thing. I think it causes us to be closed to the other possibilities. It’s true, we’ll never be 18-24, living with friends and acquaintances crammed in a small mansion, studying, traveling and eating together again… that’s over. But that isn’t a long-term possibility for most of us. And I don’t think it should be.

Surely the point was to ignite our imaginations with the possibilities of community, not to restrict them. Yet how do you build one without a combined purpose? What purpose can you propose to unite strangers with? Does it require a certain type of person to long for this? Is it just for the hippies and religos? I don’t want to separate myself from society but I want more than it’s offering. If you know what I mean?

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

