Rules, Roles & Polystyrene.

“There’s an old notion, and I’m beginning to think it’s true, that moral beings can exist only in communities. Perhaps it’s because of the idea that true virtue has nothing to do with rules and everything to do with roles.” (Utopian Dreams, Tobias Jones).

Words like ‘rules’ and ‘roles’ aren’t very welcome these days. He’s a bold man to use them. I don’t know if I agree with his thoughts, but they provoke me. They slightly coincide with discussions I took part in last night based on ‘Nooma’ videos… which provoked a lot of thought about who I am – which is much different than who I think I am. You see, I think that who you are is defined by what you do – far more than what you believe.

I am a typical member of my generation, and I seem to spend so much time making lists & plans… wasting time and hiding from anything of value. Trying to do things I’m passionate about is a risk, and so I’ll often find myself hiding behind meaningless tasks.

Living with people always (i think at least) results in the division, conscious or otherwise, of roles. I do this and you do that. That’s how it works, whether we like it (which I generally don’t) or not. Unfortunately I see no other option but chaos in its place.

Hmmm.

And no,  I’m not actually posting about polystyrene.

Leave a Reply

