something worth saying.

blogging is weird, isn’t it? I mean, it’s making these declarations to the world… as if you’re talking to someone, but you’re not really. you’re simply addressing the world at large, wondering if anyone is listening. And why? I don’t know. Because I want to. But there are so many times when I really do wonder why I do it, and why I want to do it. It reminds me of the fact that I have always wanted to be a writer, but never felt that I have enough to say to write a book. If I don’t have enough to say to write a book, what makes me think I have enough to say to write on this regularly? It’s just so strange. It’s meaningless and yet full of meaning. I love reading other people’s blogs – I obsessively check to see if some of them have been updated. And I get different things from different blogs.

Some are just funny. Some are a way to keep in touch with the day-to-day lives of dear friends. Some are inspiring…

But it’s still a bit weird.

And yet I find it can help give me focus. It reminds me that I want more out of my day. It reminds me that I want to have things to talk about. And not only about eden. Even though he is pretty easy to talk about.

And so I log on, and I start to talk. To you. To myself. To the world at large. How bizarre. What would my grandparents say?!

oh and if you’re wondering, I haven’t given up on my One Hundred Things… but I am taking a philosophical approach to it. The point of the list was to enrich my life by attempting to pursue more of the things that make me love life. Since then I have begun my *top secret project* and various other things… and so I am allowing them to find space in my list in place of other things… because the point is LIFE. not being tied down. Hopefully I’ll still see a positive result at the end.

One thought on “something worth saying.

  1. I love this post. It so sums up how I feel about blogging. I have no need to, no reason to, and no idea whether anyone will care to read it, and yet it just feels like the right thing to be doing. So true too that it pushes you to do more with your days, so as to have something to blog about. I often get to the end of the day and realise I’ve achieved nothing at all, and I hate that feeling, so this is a good motivator to stop that happening. Here’s to talking to ourselves 😉

Leave a Reply

