this moment

This blog that I obsessively check has a friday ritual – ‘this moment’ – in which she posts a photo that captures a moment from the week that she wants to savour. I love the idea. I love the idea so much that I’m going to start doing it.

When I started this post I was going to say that I don’t have any such photos, but I’ve decided to go with this: Now, this post isn’t supposed to have any words, but everything in my life is accompanied by inane explanation, so I simply cannot help myself.

So.

Eden is wearing a sweater that was knitted for me when I was 2 or 3 by my late grandmother. Although I don’t remember wearing it, I distinctly remember photos of me wearing it, and a matching pink one I later owned. And he’s sitting on a chair next to me – his new latest hobby. My little boy is beginning to push for growing up, in tiny ways right now. And I want to remember it. I want to remember how much he struggled to climb on that chair on his own, until I helped him up. How he settled himself in and started to play with the plant pot and the two balls that are inside it. How proud he was to be doing it.

So that’s this week’s moment. What’s yours?

One thought on “this moment

Leave a Reply

