ethics, prawns & scrummy risotto

seriously, who thought of eating those things? but they did. and, despite my love-hate relationship with them, the world goes crazy over them. and the day before i watched BBC’s Blue Planet’s Deep Trouble, I bought some. I won’t again, unless something changes. but I did make a SERIOUSLY scrummy risotto with some of them… recipe to follow.

Sometimes it is dizzy-ing keeping track of what is ok to eat and what isn’t, particularly when you love food, which I obviously do. I have avoided cod for such a long time that it is second nature, and we only buy free range chicken (except for very occasional ‘we really can barely pay our bills moments). I don’t buy Young’s fish products, because they ship all their fish to china to be prepared & packaged! … but turns out prawn fishing, unless you’re looking to some eastern Australian fishermen, is destroying the ocean. so that’s another one off our list. (and it only just got there!!) and when it comes to other things, we barely shop and when we do we boycott places like primark …

Someone once said to me that it must be exhausting having all those principles… but i simply cannot justify the cost to either the world, or other people… sure primark is lovely and cheap but the clothes are disposable, which makes our waste situation even worse.. and their ethics are barely there – someone else is paying the price for my cheap clothes. so I don’t.

anyway. rant over, recipe:

red onion

garlic

prawns

frozen peas & carrots

tin of tomatoes

lemon juice

fish oxo

parsley

-sautee onion, add rice, add stock.

-in another pan sautee prawns in garlic butter

-add prawns, and peas & carrots to risotto

-when the risotto is almost ready, add tin of tomatoes.

and it’s SSSSSOOOOOOO yummy. My jury is generally out on the risotto issue, but i wanted to eat ALL of it… and eden finished off his & phil’s, when phil was too full to finish his!

2 thoughts on “ethics, prawns & scrummy risotto

  1. Yum. Clearly this is serendipity at work, because I was just trying to remember which book my pea and prawn risotto was in, and then spotted this. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

