December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

Like the lovely Skip alluded to (or was it straight out mentioned?) my sense of wonder is expanded daily by my 2 year old. Being a mother of a toddler encourages (enforces?) open-mindedness in a manner of which I have never before encountered. I never tire of hearing him say “wow” when he sees yet anther airplane fly overhead, or another Christmas tree with “colours” (lights) or watches something else that rocks his little world.

He is constantly teaching me to allow my world to be rocked.

More and more I hear myself saying, “Aren’t we lucky?” “Aren’t we lucky to have sheep in the field behind our house?” “Aren’t we lucky to have seen that helicopter?” “Aren’t we lucky to be able to…” But more and more I am beginning to realise that I mean it. We are lucky. Damn lucky. And it’s in these silly little everyday occurrences that my mindset is slowly changing. I am choosing to be optimistic and hopeful and grateful, when I naturally lean towards pessimism and melancholy.

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, I read in a book that one of the best things we can do for our children is to provide a sense of magic. Well, I think that goes for being one of the most important things we can do for ourselves – allow ourselves to maintain a sense of magic, or of wonder, in the world. Cynicism makes good art, good conversation and develops good skills in critical thought. But it also can cripple you if you leave no room for anything else. This is why, after 3 years of studying Theology I stopped all religious courses and transferred my degree into Literature & Culture – I found myself unable to just listen, unable to just be inspired and unable to feel. I suddenly realised that for me, the sacrifice was not worth it.

And so even though it is often a constant effort, I choose wonder. I choose magic. I choose excitement in life.

Because choice is a powerful thing.

One thought on “December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

Leave a Reply

