Fighting back

I used to be fiercely principled about where I would and would not shop, among other things.

Once, a good friend mentioned that it must be exhausting to have so many principles. It took me awhile to realise what was exhausting was to have to deal with mine.

And then I had kids, and had other things to think about with far less (any?) disposable income to spend. So other than my refusal to spend money in Primark, I’ve kind of stepped down from my soapbox.

But the other day I was looking at one of those photos that has gone viral on Facebook about a bookshop supporting charity and Amazon not even paying taxes… And since working in town again, I’ve noticed so many boarded up shops…

And I don’t like it.

I don’t like the fact that T*sco are completely irresponsible and are welknown for underselling farmers and having questionable trading standards.

I don’t like the fact that Primark sells clothes at such a cost that they are disposable, and yet at what cost to those making them?

I don’t like the fact that towns are filled with boarded up shops.

I don’t like the fact that hens and ducks are kept in barns where there is no sunlight or room to move.

But these are first world concerns, despite effecting the whole world. And they are middle class battles.

Sometimes it is exhausting just considering it all.
So where do we start?

Leave a Reply

