The Ethnicity of a Nomad.

(Be warned, this is a very self indulgent post)

i was a teenager before I met someone else like me, and discovered there was a term for it: 3rd Culture Kid. (I assume we become 3rd culture adults when we grow up?) We are the people who do not belong to the culture of our parents, nor the culture in which we reside. When, as a teenager, I met another 3CK, I suddenly felt at home for the first time in my life – suddenly so many pieces of me began to make sense as I saw them echoed in someone else.

I don’t think this is something you grow out of, regardless of your lifestyle choices as an adult, because it defines you so significantly in your early years.

It defined me; it does define me. When I meet others with a similar background, I still see echoes of myself, regardless of how different our life choices have now become.

I am not Canadian, nor am I British. When people ask me where I am from, I hesitate because it is not a question easily answered. Can you choose where you are from, or only choose a place for your children to be rooted? Can a so-called 3rd culture kid find roots as an adult?

Will I ever stop feeling the need to justify why I still live in the same place, 9 years later?

Leave a Reply

