These days, it doesn’t take much to make me swear under my breath and sigh with exasperation.

It’s easy to see why: I’m trying to do too much in too little time. That, however, was my conscious decision. Short term pain for long term gain and all of that.

Regardless of all of my griping and groaning – I did choose this. I want to work. I wanted to have children. I want to finish my MA this year. I chose to live a life of quality instead of quantity. I think it’s about time the griping and groaning ceased, or at least was quietened to a dull roar.

Everywhere you look you can find platitudes saying things such as “The happy person is the grateful person” and “Be grateful for 3 things a day and you’ll be happy for xx amount of time.” This was the least cheesy image I could find, but if you don’t mind a bit of cheese, there are countless reminders that being grateful can change everything – even if nothing changes.

ImageSo I’m here, and I am grateful.
I am grateful that myself, my husband and my children are all healthy. I am grateful that at the tender age of 22 I chose a man I still think, at 30, is a pretty great guy. I’m grateful that my 5 year old is in a school that can challenge him and identify his strengths. I’m grateful that my in laws are so incredibly supportive, even when they disagree, and they help us out so very much with our childcare. I’m grateful that my boss is understanding. I’m grateful that I am privileged enough to be able to undertake a Master’s Degree. I am grateful that I can go running in the countryside with only a few minutes notice. I am grateful for good friends, even when they are too far away.My list could, should and does go on much longer.

And you know what? I feel a lot better for acknowledging it.

Leave a Reply

